I need an honest opinion!!

posted 6 years ago in Paper
Post # 3
Member
3170 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: October 2012

I’m not a huge fan of the text that was used or the colorful border but the overall idea of it is adorable! Maybe if you just used two colors for the border or just a plain colored border and not such a ‘kiddie’ text.

Post # 4
Member
14 posts
Newbee
  • Wedding: September 2013

If you are using the balloon as a repeated element as opposed to a theme then go with it. I love balloons and my first wedding was all purples and silver with balloons dominating the decor instead of flowers (it reflected our budget and our youthfulness and the decade).   I think the colours (they appear as primary colours on the computer) are what make it look a little too juvenile.  What if you kept the bride and groom but used more mature colours for the text, the border and the balloons?  If you are doing a vineyard in September…eggplant, sage green and gold?  Burgandy, red and gold?  Just throwing out ideas.  I also agree that a different font might might be better.  I like the variation in the printing and the script and the bride and groom holding the balloons made me smile.  The STDs are very modern looking.  Why not use the same font as a starting point?

Post # 5
Member
255 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: January 2014

Personally, I love the invitation look over the STD’s. As it stands now you have two completely different looks which don’t tie together. The STD’s are very formal, whereas the invitations have a lot of whimsical and fun elements to them. I do not think they necessarily look like a childs invitation, but would rather portray you as a fun, youthful and energenic couple hoping that there wedding conveys that to their guests. 

If that’s what you and your FI are going for, then I wouldn’t change a thing. My FI and I chose to use a less-then-conventional font (called Juice in Word) for our STD/Invites because we wanted that “fun” element that you lose with some of the more formal invites. 

My honest opinion is if you love it, then that’s the way you should keep it! Hope it helps!

Post # 7
Member
63 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: February 2013

I LOVE this!! I think it’s adorable!  that being said, I want you to be be aware that not everyone will support you which can be disheartening.  My advice is to just do it, and not ask around too much for your friends/family opinions. They might suck your personality out of the wedding because it’s not what they’re used to.  They mean well and all, but I made the mistake of asking for others’ opinions, and I think all of my personality has been sucked out of my own wedding.  The more people that are involved, the less the wedding will reflect you.  Don’t let that hapen to you!  =)

Post # 8
Member
255 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: January 2014

Ok! If you are doing a multi-colour theme the Invitations really convay this. However if you are using “main colors” understand that the invites and STD’s are the perfect place to establish this. Neither pieces really highlight that you are picking two that are to be a favoured slightly more. From the STD’s you’d think burgandy, and from the invites it looks like you’re leaning towards Navy & Pink. 

We have also chosen a Teal/Coral colour combo for our nuptials. Working on our STDs, Invites and other paper projects, I’ve been sure to use those colours as well as our fonts to tie all these pieces together. It creates a cohesive vision for your guests. 

Like Vanextras says though…let your STDs and Invites reflect who you are, not what other people say!

Post # 10
Member
2 posts
Wannabee

i think it’s a really cute idea! I wonder if you took the color that you did your names in and tried using it as the boreder instead of the mix of colors?? If you love it though go with it! i think it looks so much fun and weddings are supposed to be fun right?!

Post # 11
Member
30 posts
Newbee
  • Wedding: June 2012

I think that a monochromatic scheme might “grow it up a bit”.  Up is a lovely theme for a wedding, but the cartoons might not help if you are trying to stay away from the little kids type idea.  

I’m sure letter pressed invitations are out of your budget, because they are pretty much out of everyones, but that type of clean style will balloon outlines can still provide a clean and nice approach.  Color is great, but you could also incorporate that with a pocketfold, envelopes, or liners.  Sometimes too much on an invite makes it look busy.

I think they are cute, but I would just tone things down a bit.  

But that’s me.  If you and your FI love the invites, then send them out, you being happy about this day as a couple is the most important thing.  

Post # 12
Member
60 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: September 2012

I think I would take the color of your names & use that as a solid border & then use another color paper as a mat.  Like take the turquoise and cut a piece of cardstock/coverstock sligthly bigger than the invitation & glue the invitation to it.  It will create another slight border & bring in another color.  Or use a pocketfold to ad somemore color.  But if you are loving the multi-color border than go for it!  My parents thought I was crazy for having black & white as my main colors with a tiffany blue/aqua accent. & they are also baffeled by the idea that I don’t want to wear a blusher! lol

Post # 13
Member
3 posts
Wannabee
  • Wedding: December 2012

I love it all as is! I immediately get the feel and being in spanish with the colors your culture shines through! Love it!

Leave a comment


Find Amazing Vendors